Surprise, It’s the Government Contracting Sales Cycle!


I’m sitting on a plane, off to Florida for a client. I ran into a couple of good friends from the neighborhood at the airport. She’s a top salesperson for a large media company, so I seized the opportunity to get her opinion about government contracting and sales resources our company is developing.

Michelle is not accustomed to selling to government. You should have seen her face when she told me she just closed a nice government sale, “And, Rick, it took almost a whole year to close!”, she said. I just smiled and said, “Michelle, welcome to my world. There have been plenty of times when I would have been happy to win a government contract within a year.”. She said, “I don’t know how you do it.”

Truth is, Michelle knows more about selling to government than she thinks she does. She’s a very successful salesperson who knows how to listen carefully, build relationships, and deliver value. She’s just mystified by the government contracting process…and doesn’t know which of the commonly accepted sales rules she needs to break in order to sell to government.

I think I’ll invite her to the “break the rules” training program. (Besides, her husband pours a good beer.)

All the best,

Rick

One comment on “Surprise, It’s the Government Contracting Sales Cycle!

  1. Randy Bozeman says:

    “break the rules” training? Maybe you should do a class on the rules you shouldn’t break. It would be much shorter.

Leave a Reply

