NTIA Awards First Four Broadband Mapping Grants

According to the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA), four entities have been awarded the first state broadband mapping grants, with more to follow soon.  The awardees are:

  • The California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC)–awarded approximately $1.8 million
  • The Indiana Office of Technology (IOT) –awarded approximately $1.3 million
  • The Rural Economic Development Center, Inc. (e-NC Authority)–awarded approximately $1.6 million
  • The Vermont Center for Geographic Information (VCGI) –awarded approximately $1.2 million

The primary thrusts of these grants are to support  the collection and verification of the availability, speed, and location of broadband across these states. This work will be conducted on a semi-annual basis between 2009 and 2011, with initial data becoming available in November 2009 to help guide broadband policy efforts. 

NTIA received applications representing all 50 states, 5 territories, and the District of Columbia. The agency is currently reviewing the remaining 52 applications and expects to continue announcing awards throughout the fall.  The NTIA praised these applicants for submitting strong proposals, covering keys areas of data collection, verification and collaboration. 

The national broadband map, when complete, will display the geographic areas where broadband service is available; the type of technology used to provide the service; access speed and other variables. 



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s